P.E. #1 : FIN SWIMMING.

It has been 5 months since I took my first PE class in UP. I really enjoyed the class and honestly, it was the class which I looked forward to attend to, even if it was only a PE (without any effect on my GWA), next only to my Geography 1 class.

At first, I was nervous. I am not a good swimmer nor I even know how to swim. Fortunately, when I was in the Math Building, I met my former classmate and opened up about my PE. I realized that she already took it last semester with the same instructor as I had. I told her that I was worrying but she said some words of wisdom and encouragement. That day I felt very happy and somehow, relieved.

Then the day came for my Fin Swimming class. I met my classmates and they too were nervous and told me that they were not a good swimmer. So I am relieved. First meeting was only an orientation. Orientation about the course, the do’s and don’t’s, house rules and the things we have to bring for the class. And the class ended. I am not happy.

Because of so much excitement (but not happy), I went to a mall after our third meeting. I looked for SPEEDO where I could buy all the things and equipment needed. I only bought the googles because other required were too expensive. I tried going to Quiapo because I heard that there were cheap rash gears being sold. I found myself choosing the gears in one of the ukay-ukay stalls. I am contented with what I bought. It was too cheap in price but the quality was good. I immediately washed it and it turned to be like I bought it in Speedo.

First actual swimming class was teaching the basics. At first, I hardly got the right things. But because of every other day practice and training, I was happy that I was able to swim. We also swam in a ten feet swimming pool (which was actually on the other half of the whole pool). I was able to float. We also did some exams and some race swimming. Sadly, I attended some meetings after 10 minutes which was considered by my instructor as absent or late depending how later you arrived.

On happy side, it was a big factor that my classmates were there. My other classmates were good swimmers and they taught us sometimes.But other than that, it was the effort of my very considerate and very good instructor. He guided us. He was definitely a good teacher and a good swimmer.

I am not expecting a high grade because of my tardiness. It was good to know that this class taught me a lot. It helped me to develop my self confidence in swimming and I learn to believe in myself so much. And to be able to learn things, one must also go with the flow.

Leave a Reply

  • Recommended Foreign Films

    C.O.G. starring Jonathan Groff

  • The Words starring Bradley Cooper

  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower starring Logan Lerman, Emma Watson and Ezra Miller

  • Stranger than Fiction starring Will Ferrel

  • Recommended Local Films

    Ang Nawawala starring Dominic and Felix Roco

  • Liars starring Alessandra de Rossi

  • Babagwa (The Spider's Lair) starring Alex Medina

  • Recommended Foreign Novels

    The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp

  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

  • Number the Stars by Lois Lowry

  • Recommended Local Novels

    El Filibusterismo ni Jose Rizal

  • Dekada '70 ni Lualhati Bautista

  • MacArthur ni Bob Ong

