Joining the 1 Million March to Abolish Pork Barrel (Video)

This video blog is supposed to be submitted two Fridays ago. But because of the typhoons and floods all over the metro and nearby provinces, my professor gave us the best gift ever – extension. Reasonably, who can shoot a video in a torrential rains? Shooting in a torrential rains is a unique activity and majority of us haven’t done it yet after all.

But the Saturday when the task was given, I already did the fieldwork. I thought of things that I haven’t done yet but I want to do. So, I used the opportunity when my organization organized a national conference on that Saturday. Many students and faculties all over the Philippines attended it. So, it struck me. There was many people, it was a conference, there was a stage and microphones, why do I used these things to shoot myself (of course, with my orgmates) doing some public address, jokingly. I haven’t done the public speaking in front of 200 plus people. So, I got my camera, asked one of my orgmates to shoot me and instructed her what to shoot beforehand. Then we did. But the only problem was we only shoot a number of videos that were not enough to show that I was doing a public speaking in the video. Changed of plan.

When I learned that the submission was extended, I thought of shooting myself riding a Kalesa, the only sustaining pre-colonial to colonial type of vehicle using horses as transporters. But I learned, too, that riding it was expensive and I didn’t have enough money to pay for it. So, there came the day when the 1 million march to abolish PDAF happened. Then light came into my head very quick.

I haven’t joined any march or rally that was organized by people outside UP Diliman. I already joined the historical walk from Commonwealth to Mendiola. I already joined, too, small rallies in the campus. But the march in Luneta Park or Grandstand was an exciting activity. So, I saw myself in the colony of white-shirted people with the highest hope of abolishing the Pork Barrel. Time was so kind to me because I have my buddy with me and he shoot me.

Leave a Reply

  • Recommended Foreign Films

    C.O.G. starring Jonathan Groff

  • The Words starring Bradley Cooper

  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower starring Logan Lerman, Emma Watson and Ezra Miller

  • Stranger than Fiction starring Will Ferrel

  • Recommended Local Films

    Ang Nawawala starring Dominic and Felix Roco

  • Liars starring Alessandra de Rossi

  • Babagwa (The Spider's Lair) starring Alex Medina

  • Recommended Foreign Novels

    The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp

  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

  • Number the Stars by Lois Lowry

  • Recommended Local Novels

    El Filibusterismo ni Jose Rizal

  • Dekada '70 ni Lualhati Bautista

  • MacArthur ni Bob Ong

